Contact Us

Green hydrogen and fuel cells

Growing hydrogen production using PGMs

Creating an integrated sustainable energy revolution

SFA (Oxford) is committed to delivering fresh opportunities across the hydrogen value chain. All sectors of the economy including transport, industry and energy, in all regions of the world, need to cut their emissions of greenhouse gases over the coming decades. There is substantial legislative, economic and social support for this.

The development of the hydrogen economy is a part of this green energy transition. Platinum Group Metals (PGM) can play key roles in the production and use of green hydrogen from renewable energy; electrolyser and fuel cell technologies are scaling up fast. Platinum, ruthenium and iridium are mission-critical precious metals to combat climate change. Companies active in the hydrogen economy will need to understand the long-term PGM supply dynamics, whilst companies following the PGM markets will need to understand the future opportunities presented in the hydrogen value chain.

The SFA team is here to support your climate change journey with bespoke green hydrogen and hydrogen fuel cell intelligence for the circular economy.

Green H2 Consulting

Clean Energy, Electrolysis and Fuel Cells

Green Hydrogen Reports

Clean energy, electrolysis and fuel cells

Events and webinars

Register your interest for our next event.

Green Metals and Hydrogen

Friday, 26 November 2021

New York 01:00 (EST), London 06:00 (GMT), Frankfurt 07:00 (CET), Johannesburg 08:00 (SAST), Moscow 09:00 (MSK), Tokyo 15:00 (JST)

Watch again

The Pivot to a Cooler Planet

Decarbonisation

The journey to net zero.

Electrolysis

Renewable energy to make green hydrogen.

Fuel cells

Green hydrogen for industry and mobility.

Specialist advisors for the hydrogen economy

SFA's knowledge of the platinum group metals' (PGMs) market enables us to critically evaluate the adoption of electrolyser and hydrogen fuel cell technologies. We offer hydrogen market participants exclusive insights and new market development opportunities. Platinum, iridium and ruthenium are intrinsic to the safe production of hydrogen - hydrogen needs PGMs and PGMs need hydrogen. The use of green hydrogen from renewable energy could offset CO2 emissions in many sectors. PGMs have catalytic effectiveness and well-proven durability for demanding industrial and automotive applications, and platinum-based PEM electrolysis has the high power density needed for energy storage.

Hydrogen case studies

Explore some of our past projects across the hydrogen value chain.

Sustainability and ESG

Analysing the environmental performance of companies has become very important to lenders and investors in recent years, and with our expertise in commodities, we can augment your green investment coverage.

Meet the Hydrogen team

Trusted advice from a dedicated team of experts.

Dr Jenny Watts

Head of Clean Energy & Sustainability

Jamie Underwood

Principal Consultant

Dr Emilio Soberón

Principal Consultant

Dr Fahad Aljahdali

Energy Analyst

Oksan Atilan

Consulting Automotive Analyst

Nelsa Martins

Senior Technical Consultant

Carol Lu

Associate Principal Analyst: China

Jeremy Coombes

Independent Consultant

Gyubin Hwang

Market Analyst

Beresford Clarke

Managing Director: Technical & Research

Henk de Hoop

Chief Executive Officer

Stephen A. Forrest

Retired Chairman

How can we help you?

SFA (Oxford) provides bespoke, independent intelligence on the strategic metal markets, specifically tailored to your needs. To find out more about what we can offer you, please contact us.

Get in touch